Political parties submit nomination papers

NINE political parties will participate in the 26 March by-elections after their candidates were duly nominated at the Harare Magistrates Court this Wednesday.
The Harare Magistrates Court was a hive of activity this Wednesday as aspiring candidates submitted their nomination papers for approval by the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission.
The nomination court closed at 4pm with Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) nomination officer Ms Fiona Kurima saying only three candidates failed to make it as they did not appear in the voter’s roll.

“Rejections, Nyawupembe Siboniso Tarisai of Zimbabwe People’s Party candidate for Kuwadzana East as the name didn’t appear on the roll, Bizaliel Kennedy and Independent candidate for Mufakose was also jot in the roll, and Paradza Daniso Nyasha of United Democratic Alliance candidate for Highfield East who registered after cut off date,” she said.
Aspiring candidates who spoke to ZBC News are confident of their chances in the by-elections.

Out of ten constituencies, there are only two independent candidates who have been duly nominated for Epworth and St Mary’s constituencies.
Zimbabwe will go to the polls on the 26th of March to fill seats which became vacant after the death of some legislators and recalls by opposition political parties.

In Manicaland, five political parties including Zanu PF will battle it out for the Dangamvura-Chikanga constituency after their candidates were duly nominated this Wednesday.
Nomination Officer Thompson Tichaona Chiwereweshe announced the outcome of the nomination process.

“The following candidates have been duly nominated. Chipanga Hosea of the Patriotic Zimbabwean Party, Mudzipurwa Taurai of the MDC Alliance party, Dr Mupfumi Esau Fungai of Zanu Pf party, Mutseyami Chipfikwa Prosper, Citizens Coalition for Change, Zaranyika Anesu for Multi-Zimbabwe party,” he said.
Meanwhile the nomination court for councilors was also successfully held at the council chambers in Mutare.

In Matabeleland North, heavy downpours could not deter prospective candidates from filing their nomination papers at Bulawayo’s Tredgold Buildings this Wednesday.
The candidates expressed satisfaction with the smooth process.
“Everything went well, I had no problem am raring to go now, I am pleased with how it went, all I want now is to go for elections , the filing process was perfect,” said one candidate.
Matabeleland North has two national assembly constituencies up for grabs, Binga North and Tsholotsho South.
A total of eight candidates’ will battle it out in the upcoming by-elections.

In Mashonaland East a total of 12 candidates successfully filed their nominations papers at the nomination court which sat at the Marondera Magistrates Court this Wednesday.
The by-elections will be held in three constituencies in Mashonaland East including Murewa South, Marondera Central and East constituencies with 10 local authority seats also being contested for.
Some of the parties that will take part in the by elections include Zanu PF, MDC Alliance, United Democratic Alliance and Zimbabwe Labour Party.

Meanwhile the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) says it stands guided by legal instruments to be issued in terms of the law after it became a legal impossibility to implement this Wednesday’s High Court Order cancelling an earlier order which called off by-elections in six constituencies.
ZEC Chief Elections Officer Mr Utoile Silaigwana told ZBC News Wednesday evening that the new court order was served at 1655hrs, well after the nomination courts had closed in terms of the law at 1600